Wine – Quotations From the Vintner’s Cellar

The QuipperyThoughts to put you in a Wine Frame of Mind:

Age is just a number. It’s totally irrelevant unless, of course, you happen to be a bottle of wine.
– Joan Collins –

[A] hangover is the wrath of grapes.
– Youngman 1987 –

A man who was fond of wine was offered some grapes at dessert after dinner. ‘Much obliged’, said he, pushing the plate aside; ‘I am not accustomed to take my wine in pills.’
– Jean-Antheleme Brillat-Savarin –

I cook with wine, sometimes I even add it to the food.
– W.C. Fields –

If your Doctor said you could drink wine or be skinny, would you choose Red or White?
– Author Unknown –

I have great faith in the people; as for their wisdom, well, Coca-Cola still outsells champagne.
– Adlai Stevenson –

I thank god for my children everyday. Without them I’d never have known how well red wine complements chicken nuggets.
– Author Unknown –

It’s no longer ‘box wine’. The classy term is ‘Cardboardeaux’.
– someecards.com –

Okay, so it has sophisticated assertiveness, presumptuous breeding, crisp authority, complex balance, elegant power, and respected finesse: What does it taste like?
– Marvin O. Myers –

Reminds me of my safari in Africa. Somebody forgot the corkscrew and for several days we had to live on nothing but food and water.
– W.C. Fields –

Temperamentally they go together like port and… something that doesn’t go with port.
– Nancy Banks Smith –

Well, dinner would have been splendid…if the wine had been as cold as the soup, the beef as rare as the service, the brandy as old as the fish, and the maid as willing as the Duchess.
– Sir Winston Churchill –

What wine goes with Captain Crunch?
– George Carlin –

01-wine-red-white

When I am asked, as I sometimes am, what is the bottle of wine I have most enjoyed, I have to answer that it was probably some anonymous Italian fiasco that I drank one starlit Tyrrhenian night under a vine-covered arbour, while a Neapolitan fiddler played “Come Back to Sorrento” over the veal cutlet of the young woman I had designs on, and all the world was twenty years younger. Or, now I come to think of it, the bottle of cheap and dubious St Emilion that was all that the pub across the road had to offer when my wife and I had our first restaurant meal together after our son was born….
For not only is taste in wine as subjective as taste in women, but its enjoyment depends more on circumstances than does that of almost any other pleasure.
– Cyril Ray (1908–1991), “The Wine when it is Red,” In a Glass Lightly, 1967 –

When you get a wine hangover, it’s called the Grape Depression.
– Author Unknown –

Why do we call a wine sampler a ‘flight of wines’?
The other names used for a group of similar things didn’t take off.

Why can’t I be comforted by carrots? Why does it have to be chocolate or wine?
– someecards.com –