Color Quotations

The Quippery

Almost all words do have color and nothing is more pleasant than to utter a pink word and see someone’s eyes light up and know it is a pink word for him or her too.
– Gladys Taber –

Any color, so long as it’s black.
– Henry Ford –

Artists can color the sky red because they know it’s blue. Those of us who aren’t artists must color things the way they really are or people might think we’re stupid.
– Jules Feiffer –

Besides, I’ve been feeling a little blue – just a pale, elusive azure. It isn’t serious enough for anything darker.
– Lucy Maud Montgomery, Anne of the Island –

Blue is the only color which maintains its own character in all its tones… it will always stay blue; whereas yellow is blackened in its shades, and fades away when lightened; red when darkened becomes brown, and diluted with white is no longer red, but another color – pink.
– Raoul Dufy –

Caterpallor (n.): The color you turn after finding half a grub in the fruit you’re eating.
– Author Unknown –

Did the poet use red to symbolize blood? Anger? Lust? Or is the wheelbarrow simply red because red sounded better than black?
– Jay Asher –

He had that curious love of green, which in individuals is always the sign of a subtle artistic temperament, and in nations is said to denote a laxity, if not a decadence of morals.
– Oscar Wilde –

I cannot pretend to be impartial about the colors. I rejoice with the brilliant ones, and am genuinely sorry for the poor browns.
– Winston Churchill –

If time were a color, I bet it would be a tasteful off-white.
– Greg Parrish –

In Autumn you can take one maple leaf and see almost all the colours of the rainbow in it – although you would need your imagination to see blue.
– Dorthe Eisenhardt –

I never met a color I didn’t like.
– Dale Chihuly –

It is always interesting to see how artists can cleverly create paintings of water without using blue or green, the obvious colours.
– Lu Wei Xing –

It’s a good thing that when God created the rainbow he didn’t consult a decorator or he would still be picking colors.
– Sam Levenson –

It’s not easy being green.
– Kermit the Frog, Muppets –

I think it pisses God off if you walk by the color purple in a field somewhere and don’t notice it.”
– Alice Walker, The Color Purple –

Life is like a box of crayons. Most people are the eight-color boxes, but what you’re really looking for are the 64-color boxes with the sharpeners on the back. I fancy myself to be a 64-color box, though I’ve got a few missing. It’s okay though, because I’ve got some more vibrant colors like periwinkle at my disposal. I have a bit of a problem though in that I can only meet the eight-color boxes. Does anyone else have that problem? I mean, there are so many different colors of life, of feeling, of articulation, so when I meet someone who’s an eight-color type I’m like, “hey girl, magenta!” and she’s like, “oh, you mean purple!” and she goes off on her purple thing, and I’m like, “no — I want magenta!”
– John Mayer –

Life lesson from the nursery: Broken crayons can still color.
– Author Unknown –

Lying in bed would be an altogether perfect and supreme experience if only one had a coloured pencil long enough to draw on the ceiling.
– G.K. Chesterton, “On Lying in Bed” –

Mauve? Mauve is just pink trying to be purple.
– James Abbott McNeill Whistler –

My favorite color is a soft shade of ‘Outright Totality,’ but often I am lured by hues of ‘Habitat’ or a stunning tone of ‘Subconscious.’
– Jacques Vesery –

My skin is kind of sort of brownish
Pinkish yellowish white.
My eyes are greyish blueish green,
But I’m told they look orange in the night.
My hair is reddish blondish brown,
But it’s silver when it’s wet.
And all the colors I am inside
Have not been invented yet.
– Shel Silverstein, “Colors” –

Never invest in any idea you can’t illustrate with a crayon.
– Peter Lynch –

No things could seem further apart than the doubt of grey and the decision of scarlet. Yet grey and red can mingle, as they do in the morning clouds…
– G.K. Chesterton, Alarms and Discursions, “The Glory of Grey” –

Nyquil comes in two colors, red and green, and it’s the only thing on the planet that tastes like red and green.
– Lewis Black –

Purplish brown? Let’s agree it
is a color so bad we all flee it
it has no good use
so let’s name it Puce
from the sound we make when we see it.
– Darby Bannard –

Santa knows Physics: Of all colors, Red Light penetrates fog best. That’s why Benny the Blue-nosed reindeer never got the gig.
– Neil deGrasse Tyson –

The color red is associated with romance and blood, but not at the same time.
– Dov Davidoff –

The greatest masterpieces were once only pigments on a palette.
– Henry S. Hoskins –

The more an object is polished or brilliant, the less you see its own color and the more it becomes a mirror reflecting the color of its surroundings.
– Eugene Delacroix –

Violet has the shortest wavelength of the spectrum. Behind it, the invisible ultraviolet. Roses are Red, Violets are Blue. Poor violet, violated for a rhyme.
– Derek Jarman –

We could learn a lot from crayons; some are sharp, some are pretty, some are dull, while others bright, some have weird names, but they all have learned to live together in the same box.
– Robert Fulghum –

When I haven’t any blue I use red.
– Pablo Picasso –